Yesterday, Josh and I went to go take a look at our first non-traditional venue spaces. They are both a few blocks south of downtown Dallas... not the best neighborhood, but not the worst. We looked at Off the Grid and Lofty Spaces which are both owned by the same person.
     Off the Grid was really cool, but I immediately knew it wouldn't work. It is three stories and there are no elevators so this would not work for our older guests. It was really cool looking, though, and had a neat history (used to help power the city's streetlights and trolleys). We thought it would be cool to throw a huge party there, but that's about it.
     Lofty Spaces was just a few blocks away and it seemed to be in a little bit better looking of an area. The parking is questionable, but the space is pretty amazing. There is literally no rules for decor, as long as you don't damage anything. I've always wanted a lofty wedding with the paper lanterns and romantic candles with a vintage/casual/summer feel. This would definitely let me do it. It would be more responsibility and probably end up being a little more than we expected to spend in a venue, but it could end up being worth it. There is not an on-site coordinator like many of the chapel venues offer, so this would be something I would consider hiring for myself. It would definitely be an nontraditional venue space and it would likely be the first time any of our guests attending a wedding like the one that this could be. It is one 6,000 square foot room that we would have to create our own visual separation for ceremony and reception. They also include large movable walls, one of which would hold a DJ booth. It is very DIY friendly and right now is a contender for being our future wedding/reception site! I am waiting to hear back from the owner about his catering menu and prices (although we are also allowed to do outside catering).
12/25/2010 09:10:18 am

The mind states are five, and are subject to pleasure or pain; they are painful or not painful.

Reply
2/10/2011 04:06:07 pm

Planning ahead can make your experience less difficult and more rewarding.

Reply
2/16/2011 02:34:37 pm

Beautiful days, the bloom of youth, the youth of the passage of the Jing and unwittingly quietly away! Miss juvenile time, Imagine a bright future!

Reply
2/17/2011 03:01:30 pm

On expectations, some worrying signs are emerging.

Reply
3/8/2011 09:29:07 am

I'm just surprised to discover how a lot of data I received on this specific topic. I m so extremely thankful of you. 1 factor I could assert that, after reading this article I became preserved from the whole ineffective search I ought to have performed on this particular matter. Your write-up can be a authentic fantastic factor in disguise.

Reply
7/28/2012 10:08:28 pm

fantastic post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You ought to continue your writing. I�m positive, you�ve a fantastic readers� base already!

Reply
8/8/2012 12:51:49 am

I'm typically to running a weblog and i genuinely recognize your content material. The write-up has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your internet site and maintain checking for new information.

Reply
8/8/2012 11:02:49 pm

Hi there! Good post! Please do tell us when I could see a follow up!

Reply



Leave a Reply.